Who we are

The Royal Parks is an Executive Agency of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS).

The Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, is the Minister with overall responsibility for The Royal Parks. The Secretary of State determines the financial framework and allocation of financial resources, including key targets, and also approves the corporate objectives for The Royal Parks. Day-to-day management of the Royal Parks has been delegated by the Secretary of State to the Chief Executive of the agency.

The Royal Parks' Board sets the strategic direction for the Agency. Appointments to the Board are made by the Mayor of London.

Further information on The Royal Parks' activities and accounts is available in the annual report.

The Royal Parks' Board

The Board meets quarterly and provides a strategic overview; guiding and challenging The Royal Parks to ensure performance is maintained and improved. Appointments to The Board are made by the Mayor of London.

The Board members are:

  • The Hon Apurv Bagri - Chair
  • Ruth Anderson
  • Wesley Kerr OBE
  • Andrew Fenwick
  • Sir Andrew Ford
  • Councillor Sarah Hayward
  • Councillor Denise Hyland
  • Councillor Philippa Roe
  • Andrew Scattergood
  • Caroline Rolfe
  • Roger Bright
  • Lord Nicholas True

Board posts are not remunerated. Agendas and minutes from The Royal Parks' Board meetings are published by the Greater London Authority (GLA).

Learn more about The Royal Parks Board members.

Senior Managers

  • Andrew Scattergood - Chief Executive
  • Colin Buttery - Director of Parks and Deputy Chief Executive
  • Iain McDowall - Director of Estates
  • Greg McErlean - Director of Programmes and Projects
  • Caroline Rolfe - Director of Resources
  • Dennis Clarke - Head of Park Services
  • Liz Mullins - Director of Communications, Commercial and Events

Acts of Parliament

The Secretary of State for the Department of Culture, Media, and Sport manages the parks under powers set out in section 22 of The Crown Lands 1851 Act, which transferred management of the parks from the monarch to the government.

The 1851 Act originally vested those powers in the Commissioners of Works but the powers were transferred to the Minister of Works in 1942. Following a number of transfers, the powers now rest with the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport.

Other Acts of Parliament which are also relevant to the management of the Royal Parks include:

  • The Parks Regulation Act 1872 - deals mainly with the policing of the Royal Parks (in part amended by the Serious Organised Crime and Police Act 2005);
  • The Parks Regulation (Amendment) Act 1926 - gives the Secretary of State the power to make Park Regulations;
  • The Royal Parks Trading Act 2000 - deals with illegal trading;
  • Section 7 of the Crown Estate Act 1961 - makes further provision in relation to the management of certain parts of Regent's Park.
  • The Royal Parks and Other Open Spaces Regulations 1997 (as amended by the Royal Parks and Open Spaces (Amendment) Regulations 2004, 2010, 2011) - the main Park Regulations made under the 1926 Act, which are in force in the Royal Parks today.

Find out more about Royal Parks regulations.